What happens to my tools and settings when I upgrade to a new version?

Install & Upgrade

What happens to my tools and settings when I upgrade to a new version?

After an upgrade, we will copy all your settings from the existing installation, including your custom tools and stamps in the toolbox.

If you customized the menus and toolbars in the old version, these changes will not be copied on major version upgrades. The new version will include new menu items and toolbar buttons, so a reset of the menu and toolbar system is required. This only applies to major upgrades (like from version 7 to Version 8), and only affects menus and toolbars (not your tools and stamps in the toolbox).